Our Denomination

We are a member congregation of the Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod.

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod was founded in Chicago in 1847 to unite Lutherans scattered throughout the Midwest who desired to remain faithful to the Lutheran Confessions. From its humble beginnings of 13 congregations, it has grown to have over 6000 member congregations and around 2 million members. It has also done mission work in over 90 countries. Many of these have grown into full-fledged sister church bodies and are part of the International Lutheran Council.

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod is divided into 35 districts. We are a member of the Northern Illinois District, which encompasses roughly the area of Illinois north of I-80.